White Chocolate & Mixed Berry Brownies

Hi, everyone! So, I’ve been majorly neglecting this blog lately. I literally haven’t posted anything for the past 14 weeks or so, as I’ve been so busy with college. But although I haven’t been blogging, doesn’t mean I haven’t been baking! I did find a few opportunities to get back in the kitchen, take out my mixing bowls and fire up the oven. And now that it’s the holidays, you can hopefully expect a whole lot more!

The recipe I’m posting today is one that I made for my brother’s birthday way back in March. We were having some guests over for dinner and this called for dessert as well, and since I look for any opportunity to bake, I gladly appointed myself as the dessert chef for that particular event.

The white chocolate in these brownies is sweet and creamy, and contrasts nicely with the tanginess of the berries. I just used a packet of frozen berries, but you could probably use fresh if you wanted too. They taste amazing when served slightly warm with some vanilla ice cream, but are also great the next day after they’ve been refridgerated too.

White Chocolate & Mixed Berry Brownies
(adapted from recipes+ magazine)

125g butter, chopped
200g white cooking chocolate
100g white chocolate chips
2 eggs, lightly beaten
3/4 cup plain flour
1/2 cup self raising flour
3/4 firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup (approx.) mixed berries
1/4 cup chopped macadamias (optional)

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees Celsius. Grease and line a slice/brownie tin.
In a small saucepan, combine the butter and the white cooking chocolate and cook over low heat, stirring constantly until melted. Remove from the heat and transfer to a large mixing bowl, leaving to cool for a few minutes. Stir in the sugar and egg until well combined, then sift the flour, salt and cinnamon over it. Stir until combined. Gently fold in the choc chips, mixed berries, and macadamias if using.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and back for about 45 minutes. Cool in the pan before removing and slicing.

4 thoughts on “White Chocolate & Mixed Berry Brownies

Sneak in a comment:

