Cherry Coconut Rocky Road Slice

RockyRoad1

It’s that time of the year again! My mum’s birthday! And as usual, I was completely stuck on what to get her. There’s all the usual things – mugs, tea towels, books, clothes – that I typically buy her for special occasion. I found her some adorable teatowels from Kikki.K, but I wanted to get her something else. Something homemade. And edible. And sweet. Essentially, I decided I wanted to bake something!

A cake was definitely on the agenda, but I wanted to make her something else. Firstly, because she’s an awesome person and she deserves more than tea towels for her b’day, no matter how ridiculously adorable the tea towels are. And secondly, in case the cake didn’t turn out. Last time I tried to make her a birthday cake – a coffee and ginger layer cake, to be specific – it was an epic fail. I overmixed the batter and the cake ended up not rising properly and being really flat – impossible to cut into 3 layers like in the pretty picture in the magazine. And even though I followed the icing recipe exactly, it turned out as a runny mess, dripping down the sides of the cake, which turned out to be undercooked in the middle. The edible parts tasted okay, though, so at least it had one thing going for it.

I’m pleased to report, however, that this year’s cake turned out excellently! I actually saw this recipe on one of the little televisions at the gym. Yes, I know, rather ironic – I go to the gym to work out and end up finding a cake recipe to undo all that hard work! This must be how they keep people coming back. But since I made it as a birthday cake, it’s okay because it’s common knowledge that birthday calories don’t count. If I’ve made you curious now, here’s a link to the recipe for the cake – a White Chocolate and Coffee Walnut Crumble cake, to be exact.

This particular blog post, however, isn’t all about the cake. So let’s get back to my decision of what else to make. There was a myriad of choices in front of me. Cupcakes, cookies, brownies… but I decided to bake something I hadn’t made before.

Well, technically not “bake”. One of Mum’s favourite treats in Rocky Road – chunky, chocolatey, marshmallowy goodness in every bite. And the coolest thing about it is that you can pretty creative in regards to what actually goes into it! Besides chocolate, marshmallows and walnuts, I decided that this Rocky Road would also include glace cherries, Turkish Delight flavoured Tim Tams, and coconut.

This Rocky Road Slice was ridiculously quick and easy to make, and everybody loved it! Even I enjoyed a piece… or two… hey, birthday calories don’t count, remember? ;)

The desiccated coconut creates a delicious tropical flavor, and the chunks of Tim Tam give a satisfying crunch to each bite, contrasting with the soft, chewy texture of the marshmallows. I feel that the combination of ingredients worked well, but you can always vary the ingredients depending on your personal tastes!

RockyRoad2

Cherry Coconut Rocky Road Slice

200g milk chocolate
75g dark chocolate
25g unsalted butter
½ cup desiccated coconut
1 cup mini marshmallows
5 Turkish Delight Tim Tams, chopped (approx.. 94g)
½ cup walnuts
¼ cup glace cherries

Melt the dark chocolate, milk chocolate and butter in a large saucepan until fairly smooth. Stir in coconut and leave to cool for a few minutes, then stir in the remaining ingredients until well-combined. Line a 8x25cm pan with cling wrap. Press the mixture into the pan, and refrigerate for 2 hours or until chocolate is hard. Slice into squares and enjoy!

Sneak in a comment:

