Salted Mocha and White Choc Chip Cookies

MochaCookies1
I can’t believe it’s July! We’re already halfway through the year. It always seems like the first couple of months go slowly – the warm summer days drag on and I long for the cold, frosty bliss of winter. Then it’s winter, which I typically spend shivering in the cold dreaming of the warm sunny days that I was wishing away earlier in the year.

The year has flown by so quickly, and I’m currently in an ever-increasing state of excitement (and slight panic) because pretty soon I too will be doing some flying. Yes, next Thursday I shall be prancing off to South America to take part in World Youth Day! It’s my first time overseas, and I’m looking forward to it immensely!

I don’t know whether or not this will be my last post before I head off (although knowing my laziness, it probably will be) so I’d like to share these delicious Salted Mocha and White Choc Chip cookies with you all. I baked these the other night (and managed to beat the temptation to consume an entire tray while they were still warm from the oven! Go me!) – they’re based on a recipe from the Cadbury Kitchen website. Ever since the success of the cake I made for my Mum’s birthday, I’ve come to like that site and many of those recipes have made their way onto my to-bake list.

Originally, I was going to do Salted Caramel Mocha cookies (inspired by the Salted Caramel Mocha from Starbucks which was available for a limited time last year) using caramel chips instead of choc chips, but the caramel chips were past their best-before date by a few months, so I opted for white choc chips instead; they’re still pretty sweet, balancing out the sea salt and the strong cocoa/coffee flavor of the cookies. Enjoy!

MochaCookies2
Salted Mocha and White Choc Chip Cookies
Adapted from Cadbury Kitchen

125g unsalted butter
½ cup brown sugar
⅓ cup caster sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 teaspoon instant coffee granules, dissolved in 2 tablespoons hot water
1½ cups of self raising flour
½ teaspoon cinnamon
½ cup cocoa powder
½ cup of white choc chips
Sea salt, for sprinkling

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees Celcius. Lightly grease two large baking trays.

Whist the butter and sugars together until pale and creamy. Add egg, vanilla essence and coffee, and whisk until smooth. Sift in flour, cocoa powder and cinnamon, and stir with a wooden spoon until well combined, then stir in the white choc chips.

Drop tablespoons of the dough onto the baking trays, spaced well apart, and flatten slightly. Sprinkle a little
sea salt on the top of each cookie. Bake each tray for 15 minutes or until the biscuits appear cooked. Cool on the tray for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. Or, you know, you could just eat them all while they’re still warm, ’cause that’s way more awesome than sharing them. Mmmmm.

4 thoughts on “Salted Mocha and White Choc Chip Cookies

Sneak in a comment:

