Double Marshmallow Brownies

IMG_9776

Hello there, readers! It’s been quite a while since I’ve blogged, or even baked for that matter. Don’t worry, I haven’t disappeared off the face of the earth. But after coming back from overseas (which was indescribably AWESOME by the way), I’ve had a busy few weeks of catching up on assignments and sleep so I haven’t had any time to bake cupcakes and cookies and other forms of sugary goodness. Life has been quite hectic! In fact, I actually started writing this post several weeks ago but so much has happened since then and so I kind of forgot about it for a while.

But enough about my crazy life. Let’s talk about something that’s important and relevant to us all: BROWNIES!

I’m a huge fan of brownies. Who isn’t? Although I’m the sort of person who loves to try new recipes each time, when I make brownies I generally stick to the same recipe, one that I got out of a recipe magazine. It uses ridiculous amounts of dark chocolate (two entire blocks!) as well as tons of sugar and choc chips and it’s really rich and is amazing served warm with whipped cream or ice cream as dessert, so naturally it’s one of those recipes that I want to make over and over again. But on this particular evening, I though, “Why don’t I try something new?” I didn’t really feel like using up all that dark chocolate this time, and also, I was in a marshmallow mood and decided that I wanted to make marshmallow brownies – and my usual recipe is a bit too rich and marshmallows would probably just make it too sweet.

So I went on the hunt for a marshmallow brownies recipe. I noticed that a lot of them involved sprinkling the marshmallows on top at the last minute and letting them melt a bit, but there was one I found where the marshmallows actually go IN the batter and melt while the brownie cooks, adding to the texture and flavor of the brownie. I decided to go with this one, with a few little tweaks to suit my tastes.

The brownie mix was super easy to make, and while it was in the oven I found myself growing curious – I wondered if the sprinkling-the-marshmallows-on-top-and-letting-them-melt technique would work? When I took them out of the over after they were cooked, I decided to give it a go – although only over half the tray, in case it turned out really crap and ended up ruining my lovely marshmallow brownies (which were looking very puffy and delicious at that time). I sprinkled some mini-marshmallows and milk choc chips over half the tray and popped it back in the oven for a bit.

IMG_9761

IMG_9763

The marshmallows on top didn’t really melt that much initially – I was worried about leaving it in there too long in case the brownie itself cooked too much and burned, so I took it out and used a spoon to sort of spread the mallows out over the surface of the brownie, like icing – it actually worked quite well as they had melted a little. So, I was left with a tray of half marshmallow brownies and half double-marshmallow brownies.

These brownies are rich, fudgy, sweet and chewy. It’s a bit like eating rocky road, but more chocolatey. The marshmallows that are within the batter aren’t actually visible, but you can definitely taste them – the whole thing has a marshmallowy flavor, with a subtle hint of rum from the rum essence. Of course if you’re not a fan of rum flavoured things you could definitely substitute vanilla essence, or some other sort of essence, whatever floats your boat.

Double Marshmallow Brownies
(from Cookie Madness)

115g unsalted butter
60g dark cooking chocolate, broken into pieces
1/2 granualted sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
a pinch of salt
2 eggs
1/2 plain flour
1 cup milk choc chips
3/4 cup mini marshmallows
2 tablespoons rum essence (optional)
Extra mini marshmallows and choc chips for topping (about 1/4 to 1/2 a cup of each)

Preheat the oven to 176 degrees C. Grease and line a brownie tin with baking paper.

Melt the butter in a large saucepan. Add the cooking chocolate, and stir until the mixture is melted and smooth. Remove from heat.

When the mixture has cooled slightly, transfer to a large mixing bowl. Stir in the sugars, salt, and eggs (one at a time). Sift in the flour and stir until combined. Fold in the marshmallows and choc chips and add the essence if using.

Pour the mixture into the brownie tin and bake for about 25 minutes. When the brownies are just cooked, remove from the oven and sprinkle mini marshmallows and choc chips over the top. Place back into the oven for about 5 minutes to and let the topping melt.

When completely cool, slice into squares. Store in the fridge.

One thought on “Double Marshmallow Brownies

  1. Pingback: Orange Marmalade Brownies and #MealForAMeal | Sneaky Pudding

Sneak in a comment:

