Choc Chip Nutella Cookies

cookiescloseup

Nutella. Who doesn’t love Nutella? It’s chocolatey, smooth and sweet. Use it for dipping strawberries, spreading on toast… or baking cookies!

I made these a while back, when I had a massive jar of Nutella sitting in my cupboard that wanted to be used up. I generally use Nutella only for baking (and occasionally to take on picnics to dip fruit in… try it! Great picnic dessert) as it’s not really an “everyday” food for me. It’s a little too sweet to spread on toast for breakfast, in my opinion. But it does make some absolutely delectable brownies, cakes and cookies.

When I made these Nutella cookies, it was a fairly cold Sunday afternoon and I was at home working on assignments, but I had a little spare time and I decided I wanted to bake – I didn’t want to spend the entire afternoon doing so, though! Just a quick baking-break to fill the house with the delicious smell of fresh cookies was all I needed. So I decided to whip up some super easy Nutella cookies that use only a few ingredients.

The cookies are absolutely amazing, sweet but not too sweet since no extra sugar is added, only that which is already in the Nutella. Obviously they taste best when enjoyed fresh from the oven, while still warm and soft, but I found that even after being kept in the fridge for a couple of days they were just as good. If you’re a fan of Nutella (of course you are! I shouldn’t have to say “if”)  then get yourself to the kitchen, pull out that giant jar of Nutella you’ve been hiding (don’t lie, I know you have one, stashed away in a secret spot just for you, so you can indulge in a spoonful or two whenever you feel lonely) and get baking!

cookiesontable

Nutella Choc-Chip Cookies

1 cup Nutella
½ cup plain flour
1 egg
1/3 cup milk choc chips
1 tsp vanilla essence
a pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 176 degrees Celsius. Lightly grease a large baking tray.
Place Nutella, egg, and vanilla in a large mixing bowl. Sift in flour and salt, and stir until combined. Stir in the choc chips.
Roll tablespoonfuls of the dough into balls and place on the prepared tray, flattening slightly. Bake for about 10-12 minutes.
When taken out of the oven they should look fairly cooked / slightly cracked; they will still be soft, so let them cool on the tray until set, then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely (if you don’t eat them all while still warm, that is!)

5 thoughts on “Choc Chip Nutella Cookies

  1. Pingback: Nutty Nutella Cookies | The Imperfect Kitchen

Sneak in a comment:

