Healthy Banana Pancakes

pancakes1

If you’re searching for the perfect non-existent word to describe me, I think “breakfastaholic” is what you’re looking for. Breakfast is by far my favourite meal of the day, and I can never understand those people who “just don’t feel like breakfast in the morning”.

Of course, when say I’m a breakfastaholic, I don’t mean that I like to chow down on a big, greasy plate of bacon and eggs and butter-laden toast every morning. I prefer not to inhale a whole day’s worth of calories before 10am. But I’m a huge fan of things like oatmeal, fruit or yoghurt.

Oh, and pancakes.

Pancakes and I don’t really cross paths all that often, since I like my breakfasts to be quite healthy, as well as quick to prepare since I don’t have loads of time in the morning. But lately I’ve really been craving pancakes! So the other morning I whipped up some tasty, “healthy” banana pancakes! They’re mostly banana, with some rolled oats to add a bit of texture. No white flour or sugar in these little guys!

The recipe for these is pretty loose in the sense that you could probably vary the amounts of certain things ever so slightly and it wouldn’t make a huge difference – I was pretty much just experimenting, so why not try doing the same? You could even add blueberries, sultanas, nuts or choc-chips to the batter itself if you’re into that sort of thing!

Sadly, due to my non-existent pancake-flipping skills, they’re weren’t all neat and round and lovely like pancakes should be. But they tasted nice so that’s a plus!

These can serve maybe 1-2 people, depending on how hungry you are. :)

pancakes2

Healthy Banana Pancakes

1 large banana, mashed
1 egg, beaten
1 tablespoon sunflower oil
2 tablespoons rolled oats
½ teaspoon cinnamon
a pinch of salt
Greek yoghurt, fresh berries and honey, to serve

 Combine the beaten egg, mashed banana, rolled oats, cinnamon and salt in a bowl and mix until combined.

Heat the sunflower oil in a frypan over medium heat. Pour the batter onto the pan in neat circles and allow to fry for about 5 minutes, or until bubbles start to appear on the surface of each pancake and they appear to be cooked underneath, then (carefully!) flip over and cook on the other side for another 2-3 minutes, until cooked through. Repeat with any batter you may have left over.
Slide onto a plate and serve with greek yoghurt, fresh berries and a drizzle of honey (or whatever your favourite pancake toppings are) and enjoy!

Sneak in a comment:

