Gingerbread Snowballs

GingerSnowballs2

Christmas is approaching fast, guys; two more sleeps! YAAAY! And I’m really enjoying the holiday break. Like, it’s Monday today, and it’s the first Monday in just about forever that I didn’t have to wake up at 6 in the morning. Oh sleep, how I have missed you.

So, remember my post from the other day – the Pepparkakor? Yeah, well, I made a lot of that stuff… perhaps even a bit too much. Sure, I’ve given it away to friends and family and work colleagues, but there was still so much left! I decided that it might be fun to find a way to up-cycle some of the excess cookies into something new.

I kept it quite simple – I just took a bunch of cookies, crushed them up and mixed them with condensed milk. Then I added some desiccated coconut for a bit of extra flavor, and coated them in it so that the final product was a bit less sticky to handle.

These little guys are quite sweet and the gingerbread flavour is still very prominent. They taste almost like bits of cookie dough. I’m fairly happy with how they turned out, and I hope you will be too. Enjoy, and happy holidays!

GingerSnowballs1

Gingerbread Snowballs

About 350g crumbled gingerbread cookies
395g can of condensed milk
¼ cup desiccated coconut, plus extra for coating

Combine the crushed cookies, condensed milk and ¼ cup of the desiccated coconut in a large mixing bowl and stir until combined and smooth. Roll tablespoons of the mixture into balls and roll them in some of the extra coconut. Place on a large tray lined with baking paper and store in the fridge for 3 hours or until firm.

Makes about 15 or so snowballs.

Sneak in a comment:

