Classic Homemade Granola

Granola

Granola. Doesn’t the word itself sound tasty? Something about the word, I don’t know what exactly, just sounds… well, crunchy. Or maybe that’s just me; I am a little bit of an oddity. The interesting thing is that I’ve never really used the word much… in fact, it’s not really a commonly used word around here. I’m used to referring to it as “toasted muesli”… but like I was saying before, the word granola sounds so much tastier.

It was a few months ago that I first started experimenting with homemade granola (gosh, I make it sound like a drug!) I looked up a few recipes, but threw in whatever I had in my pantry and kind of made it up as I went along. The first one didn’t have much in it — oats, almonds, chia seeds, sultanas and coconut — coated with a bit of honey and vegetable oil andtoasted in the oven. It was alright — not quite as crunchy as I would have liked but not too bad for a first attempt!

Since then, I’ve added all sorts of interesting bits and bobs to the classic mixture. Pumpkin seeds, quinoa, walnuts… the brilliant thing about granola is that it’s so versatile. You can add different types of nuts, dried fruit, bits of bacon (maybe not that last one) and whatever tickles your fancy. Sprinkle it over your Greek Yoghurt for a nutritious brekkie, or pop it in a zip-lock bag for a healthy snack on-the-go.

If you’re not a selfish cow like me and you actually want to share your granola with the people you love, it also makes a great gift! Seal it up in one of those mason jars that you constantly see on Pinterest, whip up a cute handmade label, and voila! The perfect gift.

The recipe I’m going to share with you all today is just a very simple version, and is open to adaption. Add your favourite types of nuts, fruit, spices… you can even substitute maple syrup for the honey (I’ve never tried this, personally, but I love maple syrup so I have a feeling it’s going to make its way into my next batch of granola)

I’m constantly trying to improve upon this recipe, so expect more variations in the future!

Classic Homemade Granola
2 Cups Rolled Oats
1/2 Cup Almonds
1/4 Cup Chia Seeds
1/4 Cup Pumpkin Seeds (Pepitas)
1/4 Cup Desiccated Coconut
2-3 Tablespoons Honey
3-4 Tablespoons Vegetable Oil (or oil of your choice)

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Line a baking tray with baking paper.
Combine all the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Add the honey and the oil, and use your hands to toss the mixture about to coat it.
Spread the mixture out evenly on the prepared baking tray, and bake in the preheated oven for 10-15 minutes.
Remove from the oven, and allow to cool on tray to allow granola to set and harden. When completely cool, pour into a jar or airtight container and seal for storage.

Enjoy!
Sneaky Pudding xo

Sneak in a comment:

